Most of the inhabitants of Wallis and Futuny is farming, fishing or farming of pigs. Main crops: coconut palm tree, tuber crops (yam, kolokazja, cassava), bananas. Unfortunately, large losses to crops causing frequent tropical cyclones, on the coconut palm plantations – the beetles. Only a small percentage of the population (around 1,500 persons) is formally employed, mainly in the public sector. The budget for the vast extent, is based on grants from France (in Paris, the government pays in full, inter alia, health and administration) and transfers of funds of citizens working abroad. Main export goods: dill, products of artistic handicrafts. Major trading partners: New Caledonia, Samoa, Fiji, New Zealand.

February 11, 2009 at 11:58 am Leave a comment


Wallis is the Pacific Ocean archipelago belonging to the French territory of Wallis and Futuny subsidiary.

The archipelago consists of the main island of Uvea, dealing a larger part and bringing together the entire population, and many smaller islands located on the coastal reef. The largest of these islands are Faioa, Fugalei, Luaniva, Nukuatea, Nukufotu, Nukuhifala, Nukuloa, Nukutapu and Nukuteatea.

The highest peak is Mont Islands Wallis Lulu Fakahega (151m).

December 10, 2008 at 6:30 pm Leave a comment


Wallis and Futuna is located about two-thirds of the way from Hawaii to New Zealand, at 13°18′S 176°12′W / -13.3, -176.2Coordinates: 13°18′S 176°12′W / -13.3, -176.2, (225 mi west of Samoa and 300 mi north-east of Fiji).

The territory includes the island of Wallis (the most populated), the island of Futuna, the uninhabited island of Alofi (the population of Alofi was reportedly eaten by the cannibal people of Futuna in one single raid in the 19th century), and 20 uninhabited islets, totaling 274 square kilometres (106 sq mi) with 129 kilometres (80 mi) of coastline. The highest point in the territory is Mont Singavi (on the island of Futuna) at 765 metres (2,510 ft).

The islands have a hot, rainy season from November to April and a cool, dry season from May to October. The rains accumulate 2,500 to 3,000 millimeters (98–118 in) each year. The average humidity is 80% and the temperature 26.6 °C (79.9°F).

Only five percent of the islands’ land area is arable land; permanent crops cover another 20%. Deforestation (only small portions of the original forests remain), largely as a result of the continued use of wood as the main fuel source, is a serious problem; as a consequence of cutting down the forests, the mountainous terrain of Futuna is particularly prone to erosion. There are no permanent settlements on Alofi because of the lack of natural fresh water resources.

October 13, 2008 at 10:15 am Leave a comment


The territory is divided into three traditional chiefdoms (royaumes coutumiers): Uvea, on the island of Wallis, Sigave, on the western part of the island of Futuna, and Alo, on the island of Alofi and on the eastern part of the island of Futuna (only Uvea is further subdivided, into three districts):

The capital of the territory is Matāʻutu on the island of Wallis, the most populated island. As a territory of France, it is governed under the French constitution of September 28, 1958, uses the French legal system, and suffrage is universal for those over 18 years of age. The French president is elected by popular vote for a five-year term; the high administrator is appointed by the French president on the advice of the French Ministry of the Interior; the presidents of the Territorial Government and the Territorial Assembly are elected by the members of the assembly.

The head of state is President Nicolas Sarkozy of France as represented by High Administrator Richard Didier (since July 19, 2006). The President of the Territorial Assembly is Pesamino Taputai since April 1st 2001. The Council of the Territory consists of three kings (kings of the three traditional chiefdoms, who are “de jure” members) and three members appointed by the high administrator on the advice of the Territorial Assembly.

The legislative branch consists of the unicameral Territorial Assembly or Assemblée territoriale of 20 seats; the members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms. Wallis and Futuna elects one senator to the French Senate and one deputy to the French National Assembly.

Justice is generally administered under French law by a tribunal of first instance in Mata-Utu, but the three traditional chiefdoms administer justice according to customary law (only for non-criminal cases). The court of appeal is in Nouméa, New Caledonia.

The territory participates in the Franc Zone, and as a permanent member of the Secretariat of the Pacific Community and as an observer member of the South Pacific Forum.

August 24, 2008 at 11:26 pm Leave a comment


Although the Dutch and the British were the European discoverers of the islands in the 17th and 18th centuries, it was the French who were the first Europeans to settle in the territory, with the arrival of French missionaries in 1837, who converted the population to Roman Catholicism. Wallis is named after the British explorer, Samuel Wallis.

On April 5, 1842, they asked for the protection of France after the rebellion of a part of the local population. On April 5, 1887, the queen of Uvea (on the island of Wallis) signed a treaty officially establishing a French protectorate. The kings of Sigave and Alo on the islands of Futuna and Alofi also signed a treaty establishing a French protectorate on February 16, 1888. The islands were put under the authority of the French colony of New Caledonia.

In 1917, the three traditional chiefdoms were annexed to France and turned into the Colony of Wallis and Futuna, still under the authority of the Colony of New Caledonia.

In 1959, the inhabitants of the islands voted to become a French overseas territory, effective in 1961, thus ending their subordination to New Caledonia.

In 2005 the 50th king, Tomasi Kulimoetoke II, faced being deposed after giving sanctuary to his grandson who was convicted of manslaughter. The king claimed his grandson should be judged by tribal law rather than by the French penal system. There were riots in the streets involving the king’s supporters, which were victorious over attempts to replace the king. Two years later, Tomasi Kulimoetoke died on 7 May 2007. The state was in a six-month period of mourning. During this period, mentioning a successor was forbidden.

June 21, 2008 at 1:06 pm Leave a comment

When to Go

It’s not surprising that, being in the middle of the tropics, Wallis and Futuna are markedly hot and humid. Anytime between May and October – the dry season – is ideal for a visit. The average temperature during this period, when the hot climate is tempered by sea breezes, is a comfortable 27°C (80ºF). Temperatures tend to climb during the rainy season, November-April. Cyclones during this period are another reason to avoid visiting at this time.

May 18, 2008 at 11:56 am Leave a comment


Mata-Utu or more correctly Matāʻutu is the capital of the Wallis and Futuna Territory. It is located on the island of Wallis (ʻUvea), in the district of Hahake, of which it is also the capital. Its population (2003 census) is 1,191 [1].

Downtown Mata-Utu is dominated by the Matâ’Utu Cathedral, a French national monument. Within its vicinity there are, as well as several restaurants, hotels and the post office, the palace of the King of Uvéa (one of the three traditional kingdoms which is divided into the Territory Overseas). A short distance out of town are the police station and shopping mall. Near Mata-Utu are two important archaeological sites: Talietumu and Tonga Toto.

May 7, 2008 at 1:21 pm Leave a comment

Older Posts


  • Blogroll

  • Feeds